Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Employee Spotlight: Cristine Rose

Name: Cristine Rose
Snapchef Location: Worcester
Position: Grill Cook

What experience in your life led to your interest in food and cooking?

I would have to say my parents influenced and inspired me to cook. They always encouraged me to be creative, and I have always enjoyed cooking. I am happy to say that I can make a living off something I enjoy.

Describe the moment when you decided that you wanted to pursue a career in the culinary field.

I started working in kitchens to make extra cash growing up. I had an employer that saw potential in me, and I slowly transition from utility to grill cook. It made me feel good to feed others.

What challenges have you faced, and what obstacles have you had to overcome, to pursue your career in the culinary field?

I would have to say that being a female in a male dominated field has inspired me to work harder than most. I always felt the need to push myself to learn more and grow.

How have friends and family reacted to your career choice?

My family and friends are happy for me. My mother was happy that I found something that I loved and that I excel at.

What do you like most about working in a professional kitchen?

I enjoy learning different cooking techniques and about different cuisines. I am never bored, and am always moving.

What’s your favorite comfort food?

This one is easy, I like steak and potatoes.

What is your favorite thing about working at Snapchef?

I like the flexible schedule. I am a full-time student and I can manage my time with Snapchef while I still attend class.

What is your advice to those interested in pursuing a career in the culinary field?

My advice is nothing worth having comes easily. The culinary field takes practice and hard work. You really must push for what you want. I started washing dishes and waiting tables andnow I view myself as a strong cook.

What are some of your other hobbies outside of cooking?

I enjoy knitting, reading, crochet, hiking and mountain biking.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top